7 Simple Ingredients 1 Amazing Result

Linguine and Tomatoes

  IMG_3631

            Julia Child once said that she didn’t consider Italian cooking to be “real cooking,” Italian food is far too easy to prepare. Well Mrs. Child, I must say that one of the many reasons I love making Italian food is for its simplicity. Unlike the complexity of Classical French cooking, Italian cuisine is always just a few ingredients away from something wonderful. I first made this pasta after a lecture in my culinary class I’m currently taking. Chef Jill told the class that the best canned tomatoes you can buy are San Marzano. I’ve heard of these before but I never actually took the plunge and bought them. San Marzano tomatoes will definitely set you back a few pennies, try 450 of them. $4.50 dollars for a 28 oz can that will feed about 4 people; they are pretty easy to find, I bought mine at Albertsons. These guys are definitely worth the money! I’ve never had tomatoes come out of a can that were as plump and full of flavor as these are. I wanted to do something simple and tasty that would make the tomatoes the star of the show. So I took my lead from the Italians and kept it easy, using only a few other things I already had in my fridge and pantry, I came up with this fast summer time pasta!

IMG_3637

Ingredients:

1/2 bl linguine pasta

2 tablespoons of olive oil

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1/4 teaspoon red chili flakes

28 oz can of San Marzano whole tomatoes, chopped

3 tablespoons fresh basil, chiffonade

½ cup parmesan cheese, grated

Serves 4

Directions:

Start by bringing a big pot of salted water to a boil for your pasta.

Heat your olive oil in a large sauté pan and add the garlic. Let this cook for just a few minutes then add the tomatoes with all the juice and the chili flakes. Let this simmer on low while you cook the pasta.

IMG_3633

Once the pasta is al dente, remove from the water and add it to the tomato sauce, add the fresh basil and toss to combine.

IMG_3610

 

Top with as much or as little parmesan cheese as your heart desires, if you’re like me, that’s a lot of cheese. Buon Appetito!

I’ve made Linguine and Tomatoes for myself and my fiancé a number of times it’s easy comfort food that lends itself to the warm weather that’s fast approaching Vegas. It’s super easy to whip together after a long day at work and has minimal clean up. This makes it a win win in my recipe book! What really makes this recipe a success is the quality of the canned tomatoes. You can try it with another brand but I have definitely been converted to the San Marzano Team! Special thanks to the Italians and Chef Jill for the inspiration!

IMG_3634

P. S. Serve with a fresh beget, butter and a glass of crisp white wine. I like a chilled Sauvignon Blanc or a good Pinot Grigio.

IMG_3429

Leave a Reply

