Heirlooms in Summer Time

Heirloom Tomato Salad

I was walking through the produce department at my local Whole Foods Market the other day when I passed the heirloom tomatoes. I literally stopped in my tracks as the smell of fresh tomatoes filled my lungs. They were absolutely beautiful, the brilliant colors catch your eye with their bright yellows, vibrant reds, radiant oranges and luminous greens. I couldn’t help myself I bought five big beauties!

DSC04015

When I was young, my mom had a vegetable garden. I remember spending hot summer afternoons pulling weeds, catching earth worms, watering and preening the various flowers and vegetable we had growing. Most people think you can’t grow anything in the Vegas dessert but that simply is not true. In my family’s garden we grew potatoes, carrots, squash, chili peppers, lemons and of course tomatoes. I miss those days and really hope that I can start a garden of my own again one day.

Anyhow, I brought my lovely heirloom tomatoes home and I really wanted to bite into one like it was an apple! But I restrained myself and found a way to enjoy them using only a few very simple ingredients: olive oil, balsamic vinegar, goat cheese and something a little special Himalania Pink Salt. This salt is one of my favorites to use, it’s beautiful, unrefined and 100% natural.

DSC04023

Instructions:

Thickly slice two of your heirloom tomatoes and place them on a plate. Drizzle over some extra virgin olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar. Then, crumble just a little goat cheese and sprinkle a bit of Himalayan Pink Salt.

DSC04049

Awww perfection this was the perfect summer time lunch. The heirloom tomatoes were sweet and fragrant the olive oil and goat cheese adds richness and the vinegar and salt add that needed tang on your tongue. I need to start my own heirloom tomato farm.

4 thoughts on “Heirlooms in Summer Time

  1. I love heirloom tomatoes, too. Had one sliced up for breakfast, delicious.
    Our tomato plants are doing well this summer.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

