Grandma’s Strawberry Almond Salad

Strawberry Almond Salad

DSC04496

What kid doesn’t like going over to grandma’s house and what adult doesn’t have good memories of grandma’s house? I know I have fond memories of spending weekends with my grandma. We would make a big bowl of popcorn and lie in her giant bed and watch old movies. In the morning I would wake up and say “grandma lets cook!” She would take me into her big kitchen and we would spend hours making cookies, banana and zucchini bread, waffles, fudge and tons of other fabulous things. Now that I’m older and spending more time in my own kitchen I wanted to revisit some for my grandma’s old recipes. One of my family’s favorites is “Grandma’s Strawberry and Almond Salad” This has a dressing that is truly addicting and fresh flavors that are perfect for the Vegas heat.

Ingredients

For the salad

1 head of romaine lettuce, chopped

1 pint of strawberries, washed and quartered

2 avocados, cut bit size

½ cup sliced almonds, toasted

For the dressing

½ cup mayonnaises

2 tablespoons white sugar

2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

2 teaspoons poppy seeds

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

Pinch of salt

Instructions

First start with the dressing, mix all the ingredients together and set aside to allow the sugar to dissolve.

DSC04516

Next chop up your fruit and vegetables and toss in a big bowl. Toast your almonds in a dry pan over the stove. Be sure to keep an eye on them they can burn very quickly.  Add the almonds to the salad and drizzle over the dressing. Toss everything together and serve.

DSC04521

This will make enough for about 4 to 6 people depending how many seconds they get 😉

The first time I made this salad for my fiancé Ryan he ate almost all of it on his own. Try this out and let me know what you think or if you have any questions let me know. Enjoy!

DSC04526

4 thoughts on “Grandma’s Strawberry Almond Salad

Leave a Reply

