Will You Be My Bridesmaid?

Will You Be My Bridesmaid?

DSC05383

As some of you may know I am getting married next year in April. I’m super excited about getting to marry the man that totally completes me in every way possible. Planning my wedding details however, has been more than a bit of a challenge. I did not hire a wedding planner nor am I using a conventional wedding venue that provides you with everything you need. So it is left to me to organize, plan, coordinate and book the long list of wedding must haves such as finding the venue, DJ, caterer, cake maker, florist and photographer. Scheduling dance lessons and wedding dress fittings; finding the right save the date magnets, invitations and all the ceremony and reception decorations. Picking out the groom’s men outfits and bridesmaid dresses finding the perfect theme for the wedding and colors to go with it . . .  et cetera et cetera et cetera. This is why a bride has the help of few close girlfriends called bridesmaids right?

I picked three amazing women to be my bridesmaids, my two older sisters Nichole and Ashley and my best friend Amber. Sadly two of these lovely ladies live out of state my oldest sister Nichole is in Texas and Amber is in Virginia. So I came up with a fun way to ask them to be a part of my bridal party. To me nothing says “I love you” like a handmade gift and baked goods so that’s what I did. I originally saw this on Pinterest and thought “I can do that” and in a span of one afternoon I had finished.

DSC05113

DSC05121

DSC05127

For the baked goods I decided to go with a basic sugar cookie with two different flavorings. One is an Iced Lemon and Rosemary and the other is a Crunchy Almond.

Basic Sugar Cookie

3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon milk

Powder sugar, for rolling out the dough

Iced Lemon and Rosemary Cookies

The zest of 3 lemons

2 teaspoons of fresh rosemary, minced

For the icing

The zest and juice of 2 lemons

1 teaspoon of fresh rosemary, minced

2 cups powdered sugar

Crunchy Almond Cookies

1 teaspoon of almond extract

1/3 cup of sliced almonds

For the crunchy topping 

1 egg

½ cup sliced almonds

1/4 cup white sugar

Instructions

Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt then set aside. Next using an electric mixer beat the butter and sugar together until it becomes light and fluffy. Then add the lemon zest and rosemary or the almond extract and almonds and mix together. Then add the egg and milk and beat together. Lastly, mix in the dry ingredients a 3ed at a time till just combined. Be sure to not over mix. Once your cookies are mixed together wrap the dough in some plastic wrap and refrigerate it for 2 hours or more.

Then simply roll out your dough and use your favorite cookie cutter to cut out your cookies. I used a heart shape to symbolize LOVE 😉

DSC05352

If you are making the almond crunch cookies brush the top of the cookies with egg and then sprinkle over the sliced almonds and a little sugar. Both cookies bake for the same time and at the same temperature. Place them on a cookie sheet and bake in a 350º oven for 10 minutes be sure to rotate them half way through.

Now if you made the Almond Crunch Cookies you are all set to enjoy them.

DSC05366

If you are making the Iced Lemon Rosemary Cookies then there is one more step.

Mix together the lemon zest and juice with the rosemary and powdered sugar.

DSC05345

Spoon the icing over the cookies while they and still warm from the oven.

DSC05361

I wrapped these sweet treats in some fun pink wax paper bags along with my hand made “will you be my bridesmaid” mini banner and sent them off to Texas and Virginia. How can they say no to something like this?

DSC05377

DSC05388

9 thoughts on “Will You Be My Bridesmaid?

Leave a Reply

