Thankful for Sweet Potatoes!

Savory Sweet Potato Bread Pudding

IMG_6028

The weather has finally turned cold here in Vegas and Thanksgiving is fast approaching so of course I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to make for our family feast. One of my favorite things to eat on Thanksgiving, actually one of my favorite things to eat anytime, are sweet potatoes. But instead of a sweet potato casserole I want to do something a little different this year. So how about a pudding instead of a casserole? That sounds just different enough to be amazing. I first made this bread pudding earlier in the year when I had a leftover baguette and a couple sweet potatoes laying around. I’ve tweaked it a little to make it just right for our Thanksgiving celebration/foodie feast. The great thing about bread pudding is that it is a wonderful way to use up any leftover bread. This time I had half a loaf of pumpernickel.

IMG_5995

So the plan this year is to make of course turkey, this sweet potato bread pudding, green bean casserole, I had to have at least one casserole in there 😉 and ensaymada cheese rolls. These rolls are a Filipino favorite and I thank my fellow blogger from the Hungry Brownie for this recipe. And for dessert pumpkin pie with whip cream and hot apple pie. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving! I want to eat now!

Ingredients  

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and Pepper

4 cups of bread, cut into cubes

2 tablespoons butter

1 yellow onion, small dice

3 cloves of garlic, minced

½ cup dry white wine

2 1/2 cups of heavy cream

6 eggs, beaten

1 cups parmesan cheese, grated

1/3 cup pure maple syrup

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon allspice

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Instructions

First let’s roast the sweet potatoes. Simply place them on a sheet pan and drizzle over the olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss this around to coat and roast in a 400º oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until fork tender. Once the sweet potatoes are done set them aside to cool and turn the oven down to 350º.

IMG_5994

Now sauté the onion in the butter till translucent then add the garlic and sauté a few more minutes. Next add your white wine and allow this to simmer for a few minutes then turn the heat off and set aside.

Lastly in a large bowl add the bread, sweet potatoes, the onion mixture, cream, eggs, 1 cup of the parmesan, maple syrup, nutmeg, salt and pepper and give this a big stir to combine all the ingredients. Place the bowl in the fridge for about 15 minutes to allow the bread to soak up all the goodness.

IMG_5996IMG_5998

Now tumble you pudding into a buttered dish and bake for 50 to 55 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_6026

I’m hoping for no flaws in my Thanksgiving feasting plan this year. However, even if the food doesn’t turn out exactly as I imagined I know my family will love it and we still have a fabulous time spending this holiday together.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

IMG_6029

2 thoughts on “Thankful for Sweet Potatoes!

Leave a Reply

