Wedding Toast

Cheese Board

IMG_7713

            Hello everyone, I have been suspiciously absent from the blog for a few weeks but I have a pretty awesome excuse. I got married! Yes on April 18th 2015 I became Mrs. Kathleen Ordinario! What a whirl wind it was. If any of you read my Italian Love Cookies post you know I did almost all the work for this wedding myself. Ryan and I picked a venue that provided a space but nothing else which left us with the set up and break down of the venue along with the choosing of all the vendors and countless other little details that needed to be done. However, thanks to some amazing friends, family and my impeccable organizing, the day went incredibly smooth. I’ll be posting some of our wedding pictures when they come in but for those of you that are interested just visit my Facebook for some of the candid ones.

wedding (29)

            The reception turned out to be, as Ryan put it “pretty epic!” with lots of great food, music, dancing and of course drinking. We were in charge of stocking our bar and I ended up picking out three wines, Ryan chose a variety of beers and thanks to my mom, we also had champagne. We ended up with about 80 people at our wedding but it looks like my mom and I were buying wine and champagne for more like 150! 😉 We ended up with quite a lot of left over wine bottles and champagne. At least it doesn’t go bad 😉

IMG_7716

Kung Fu Girl Riesling  Grove Mill Sauvignon Blanc  Las Rocas Garnacha

But what do you do when you have all this lovely wine leftover? Make a cheese board of course. Now I fallow Ina Garden on this one “make one thing by hand and simply assemble the rest”. One of my best crowd pleasers when it comes to cheese is my baked brie with caramelized onion and apricot jam.

Ingredients

1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced

1 small whole brie

1/3 cup apricot jam

1 store bought frozen puff pastry, thawed in the fridge.

2 tablespoons butter

Olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Instructions

First you need to caramelize your onions this takes the longest about 30 minutes but it will be worth it trust me! In a sauté pan on medium low heat place the butter and about 1 tablespoon olive oil. Once the butter is melted add the onion and season with salt and pepper. Stir this occasionally you want it to cook low and slow you don’t want to burn them. When your onions are done set them aside to cool.

IMG_7709

Next on a floured board roll the puff pastry out a little so it is big enough to fit all the way around the brie. Now, simply spoon the jam on top of the brie then add the onions on top of that. Then wrap the puff pastry around the whole thing.


IMG_7714
IMG_7711

Rub the dough with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Then bake at 350 for 30 to 35 minutes. It should come out puffed and golden brown. Let it rest for at least 20 minutes before you cut into it.

IMG_7712

What else is on board? Some of my favorites with these wines are: wasabi peas, dried cherries, green apples, cherry tomatoes, crackers and salami.

IMG_7715

IMG_7710

Leave a Reply

