Wedding Favor Baking (What Have I Gotten Myself Into?)

Italian Love Cookies

IMG_7189

As some of you may have already read I am getting married to a really amazing and cute guy this April 18th.

DSC07023

Yes that is less than a month away! And being that I want to save a little money on this wedding or because I like to make things complicated for myself I decided to make all the wedding favors. We will be having around 100 guest, that makes about 110 wedding favors just in case πŸ˜‰

IMG_7179

I wanted to make something easy with only a few ingredients to help with the cost and my sanity. After scrapping my original idea of french macarons (what was I thinking about on those!) I decided to go with the classic Italian Wedding Cookie or Italian Love Cookies as I like to call them πŸ˜‰ I even borrowed my sister’s stand mixer to help with all the mixing. Using my little hand mixer just seemed like craziness! πŸ™‚

IMG_7178

They only have 8 ingredients, simple and sweet something that I think everyone can agree is fabulous. I plan on making 500 of these little babies, that’s 12 batches of this recipe which will give each person 5 cookies in a box. I’ve thought about this a little πŸ˜‰ I have been making this dough every morning this week forming the balls, freezing them and storing them in zip lock bags in my freezer. We plan on baking the cookies two days before the wedding so they will be fresh for all of our guests.

Ingredients

3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

Β 1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

Β 1 1/2 cups finely ground almonds

Β 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Β 3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Β 1 cup confectioners’ sugar for rolling

Makes about 42 cookies at 1 tablespoon each

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 350ΒΊ. In the bowl of an electric mixer whip the butter until light and fluffy. Then add the sugar, salt, vanilla, cinnamon and almond meal and mix this in.

IMG_7180

Lastly add your flour about Β½ cup at a time mixing it in each time. The dough will be a little crumbly but that’s ok. Now form the cookies using a tablespoon measure to scoop the dough and roll it into balls. Place these on a baking sheet and cook them for 12 to 15 minutes when they are fresh. If you are cooking them from frozen they will take about 20 to 22 minutes. They should be just lightly browned. Move them to a cooling rack and allow them to cool for a few minutes.

IMG_7138

While they are still warm roll them in the powdered sugar then put them back on the cooling rack to cool completely. Once your cookies are room temperature you will want to roll them in the powdered sugar again to coat them completely. I like them to look like snowballs πŸ˜‰

IMG_7186

7 thoughts on “Wedding Favor Baking (What Have I Gotten Myself Into?)

  1. Hi Kathleen!! We recieved your lovely Thank you cards!! Thank you again for having us! Congrats again!! Yay! We definitely enjoyed every minute of your wedding! I especially loved how i was able to enjoy your wedding even when i got home with your amazing give away italian wedding cookies.. they were pure deliciousness!! I loved it so much.. i had to email myself you recipe!! Cheers!!! Love yah..

Leave a Reply

